X Close
Your Cart
Keep Shopping

Penn State Wins Fourth Straight National Title

Penn State Wins Fourth Straight National Title

 Nittany Lions Maintain Wrestling Dynasty

The Penn State Nittany Lions secured their fourth consecutive national title on the shoulders of champions Jason Nolf, Bo Nickal and Anthony Cassar.

Thirty-three athletes achieved spots in the tournament in each of the following weight classes, 125 pounds, 133 pounds, 141 pounds, 149 pounds, 157 pounds, 165 pounds, 174 pounds, 184 pounds, 197 pounds and heavyweight which goes up to 285 through automatic bids or at-large bids.  The remaining 45 spots were assigned as at-large bids by the NCAA Wrestling Committee.

At 125 pounds, Iowa's Spencer Lee won his second consecutive national title over Jack Mueller of Virginia.

At 133 pounds, Rutgers star Nick Suriano became the school's first national champion with a win over Daton Fix of Oklahoma State.

At 141 pounds, Yianni Diakomihalis of Cornell defeated Ohio State's Joey McKenna.

At 149 pounds, the second Rutgers Scarlet Knight Anthony Ashnault was victorious.

At 157 pounds, Penn State's Jason Nolf took home his third straight title.

At 165 pounds Mehki Lewis of VA Tech became their first wrestling national champion by beating the returning champ Vincenzo Joseph of Penn State.

At 174 pounds, Zahid Valencia of Arizona State defeated Penn State's Mark Hall to win his second straight title.

At 184 pounds, Iowa's Drew Foster defeated Cornell's Max Dean.

At 197 pounds, Penn State's Bo Nickal secured a dominant victory over Kollin Moore of Ohio State.

At 285 pounds, Penn State's Anthony Cassar defeated Oklahoma State's Derek White.



The Ohio State Buckeyes finished second in the team title race, with Oklahoma State and Iowa coming in third and fourth respectivey.

Fanatic Wrestling has joined forces with the best athletes and coaches on the planet and you can take advantage of these partnerships by checking out J'Den Cox, the three time NCAA champion's new instructional series "Float Like a Butterfly".  You will learn all of the secrets and fundamentals that J'Den has used to be 2018 world champion and 2016 Olympic medalist.